pulau harapan

Harapan Island

As your plane slowly descends for its approach to Jakarta’s Soekarno-Hatta International Airport, you can see a large number of large and small islands dotting the sea in the Bay of Jakarta. These are known as the Thousand Islands, or Kepulauan Seribu (Seribu Archipelago). In fact, they are a cluster of 76 coral islands with more appearing and disappearing with the tide.

The Thousand Islands (officially Kepulauan Seribu) are a chain of islands to the north of Jakarta's coast. It forms the only regency of Jakarta, the capital of Indonesia. It consists of a string of 110 islands stretching 45 km (28 mi) north into the Java Sea at West Jakarta Bay and in fact north of Banten Province.

In the official list, the Thousand Islands Regency contains 110 islands and is divided into two sub districts or kecamatan: The Kecamatan of Kepulauan Seribu Selatan, or South Thousand Islands, and the Kecamatan of Kepulauan Seribu Utara, or North Thousand Islands.

The Kecamatan of Kepulauan Seribu Utara is divided into three Kelurahan (administrative villages): Kelurahan Pulau Panggang, Kelurahan Pulau Kelapa, and Kelurahan Pulau Harapan.

Here are diving, snorkeling and fishing opportunities, or just good for lazing in the sun with nothing to disturb one’s mind except the chirping of birds amidst the gentle lapping of the waves.

0 0